My Girl (May Poem)

When I look at her,

I don’t see skin and bones;

I see blurred lines and grey flecks

trying to escape.

I see a girl with no idea what the terms

‘right’ and ‘wrong’ entail;

and she certainly doesn’t what to find out

anytime soon.

I see a girl with boundless ideas

swirling around her head,

wanting desperately to be seen.

They play hide-and-seek

inside her mind-

hiding in the spirts of moments

when she needs them;

and popping out during inconveniences.

She is my girl;

grey flecks and all.


In a poem, there was a line saying ‘grey flecks and blurred lines’ and it really stuck with me. I loved the idea of someone seeing a person’s inner self before they see the person’s appearance so I just went with that. I saw the grey flecks and blurred lines as a mental disorder that the girl was fighting with. I tried to show small symptoms in disorders like ADHD and depression and slight autism. I don’t want to romanticize mental disorders but instead show that they are part of people and to try to personify them. By personifying them, they seem more real and there than they usually are portrayed.

I usually try to use repetition in my pieces but found that I couldn’t do it this time. I just wanted to personify them instead as I have done in my earlier pieces like My Childhood Friend.

I want to show the more passive part of mental disorders and how they can be more of a small pain for different people.

My favorite part was:

She is my girl;

grey flecks and all.

Because I wanted to show that people with mental disorders can be loved as well.  And that the mental disorders are not a burden for the partners. It is more of a learning experience for them and that the ‘grey flecks’ can be as loved as the rest of the person.

This was a treat to write and I would love to explore this idea more in future pieces.

I need to meet the word count so I will say that one of my future goals for future pieces are to write longer poems with longer stories and plots!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. claire351 says:

    Dear Paxton,

    The way you handle mental health through poetry is impressive. I find the concept that you are still worth something despite your illness very comforting. I adore how you took something with associate with being dull and drab (grey) and turn it into a thing of beauty.

    A small thing, try to play with your repeated lines more, for example, “I see a girl”. They are so clever.

    My main critique is I want more. I love your poetry. I am so glad I got to know you as a writer this semester.

    Love,

    Claire.P

  2. AbhayP says:

    Dear Paxton,

    Your piece of poetry was short, concise, and offered a deeper meaning which I look for in great poets. The concept of mental health was greatly integrated into each line and how you gave the reader a connection with this girl was amazing. My favourite line was, “I see blurred lines and grey flecks trying to escape” because of how it refers to awareness of another’s inner self. It reveals how confused and uncertain the girl is which is, unfortunately, a harsh reality.

    So for improvements I found none, but I would recommend making your poem a bit longer so that there is more time for you to elaborate on other key details. I say this because when I was reading it I felt that it ended too quickly.

    Overall, your poetry is amazing,and I always see some connection to your blog theme in becoming aware of the beauty that we fail to see. I hope to see more of your posts as you enter grade 12.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *